Home > Management, Toys & Tools, Uncategorized > High-Tech Time Management Tools

High-Tech Time Management Tools

So I start my day, a bit late, but I figure it is still my holiday so does it matter?  I guess so – because I came across a special section on BusinessWeek Online about Time Management.  How funny is that – after I just blogged yesterday about how I don’t think tools helps with people behaviors but maybe Grafitter will… and maybe just in case I did not get the message, I’m getting it twice!

A pretty interesting set of articles on time management – all very useful where we’re trying to do more with less, especially with our time …. and as far as I know we still only have 24 hours in a day.   However, on the part of tools, they used a Lotus Notes example and this caught my eye like in “huh?”

The system—which is still in the research phase—lets users of IBM’s Lotus Notes take fast action on e-mail messages by turning them into reminders with just a couple of mouse strokes, or append relevant files so workers don’t have to switch back and forth to read things later.

I thought you could already do that easily (certainly in my old version 6.5.x) where you just click the menu button “Copy Into New” to create a new to-do or calendar entry … ?  That’s just one click??  I must be missing something in the translation. Sometimes, most times(?) maybe or probably (?) it’s “luser” error ?  We have more nifty tools and gadgets and functionality in them that we don’t know what to do with.  Sounding like a luddite here, but look at the mobile phone – as in the iPhone – it’s not a phone anymore, they just call it that because it’s marketing.

The article further goes on discussion email and IM as major time wasters.  It is and it is not – “depends” is probably a better characterization.  Let me point out the obvious that much of what we do at work is communicating.  Whether or not we’re effective or efficient at this is a separate question.  But we do a lot of communicating and there are various ways, tools, techniques, human preference that make us do it a certain way.  So what’s wrong with using email or IM or Twitter or Facebook or other Intranet/Social Network tool to communicate to our virtual and non-virtual teams?*  Isn’t the question, are we effective or efficient at communicating?  If not, then what tools or personal behaviors can we fine-tune to make it more effective and efficient?

At the end Count Results, Not Hours.  The “Just Get It Done” Rule.**

* Social Networking is the Internet “growing up”. We used to have debates whether on-line was real or not real vis-a-vis IRL (aka in real life).  My opinion is that one’s on-line life was just as real as the so-called IRL one.

** Time + Physical Presence = Results. This is something that I’ve been on a mini-crusade against since landing in this part of the world. My experience to date can be described as being “sisyphusian”.

  1. May 3, 2014 at 10:51 PM

    Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to generate a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

